12in23 Challenge - Getting Started

12in23 Challenge - Getting Started

So a couple of hours ago, as I was going through my email, I came across an email from Exercism about a challenge titled "12 in 23."

What is 12in23?

It's a coding challenge designed to encourage people to try out 12 different programming languages in 2023. Exercism is trying to encourage pythonistas 😅programmers to step out of their comfort zones and try something new.

How does it work?

Simple! Each month, you pick and focus on a new programming language. They'll, of course, provide learning resources and support. Plus, you can track your progress on their platform and connect with other learners in their online community.

Why am I doing this?

I've always wanted to learn various languages simply for the fun of it; knowledge is a bonus. Although I'm a little terrified of approaching some particular languages, which shall not be named, I'm looking forward to doing the challenge.

Next Steps

In the course of writing this, I decided to start with Python. I'm already starting the challenge late in the month, so I might as well begin with what I'm familiar with. I'll be documenting my progress here at the end of each month but frequently on Github

Does this sound like something you'd be interested in doing? check out Exercism's website here to get started 😀

Note: The cover image was gotten from my Exercism Dashboard. (discovered I can't caption it)